Top of Page
Skip main navigation

College of Medical Sciences

Apply Now

Learn how to apply to the NSU College of Medical Sciences by visiting one of the links below.

Apply Now

The College of Medical Sciences, a part of the Health Professions Division, offers a Master of Biomedical Science degree. This degree program is primarily for individuals seeking careers in Health Care and Higher Education.

The College of Medical Sciences also provides much of the basic science faculty for the colleges of Osteopathic Medicine, Pharmacy, Optometry, Health Care Sciences, Nursing, and Dental Medicine. Within this cooperative atmosphere, foundation courses are offered in Anatomy, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Pathology, Pharmacology, and Physiology.

One of the goals of the College of Medical Sciences is to equip all students with the basic scientific training they will need to ensure their success within the Health Professions Division as well as later during their careers as health care providers.

Mission Statement

The Master of Biomedical Sciences (M.B.S.) is a program for students to demonstrate that they can be successful in either the Nova Southeastern University's osteopathic medical or dental programs. Students are trained in human biology and medicine to improve their academic credentials in order to be considered for admission to our professional schools. Those enrolled in this program take basic science courses, along with dental and osteopathic medicine students. Courses offered include gross anatomy, histology, neuroanatomy, biochemistry, microbiology, physiology, pathology and pharmacology.

Students who have successfully completed one year in this program will be considered for admission into the College of Dental Medicine or the College of Osteopathic Medicine at Nova Southeastern University, pending a completed application to the respective program. M.B.S. students who have successfully finished two years of this program will receive the master's degree and then will be considered for admission to the College of Osteopathic Medicine or College of Dental Medicine after completing an application to the professional program.

The Master of Biomedical Sciences degree program is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS).

Master's Program

Many criteria, in addition to academic credentials, play a role in the admissions process to professional schools. While the biomedical science program does provide an opportunity for the student to demonstrate academic capability, it does not ensure admission to any professional school. Admission to the graduate program or completion of courses will not guarantee admission to any other program of Nova Southeastern University.

Upon receipt of the completed application and required credentials, the committee on admissions will select those applicants to be interviewed. All applicants who are eventually accepted into the program must be interviewed. An invitation to appear for an interview should not be construed by the applicant as evidence of acceptance.

The dean of the College of Medical Sciences is empowered to evaluate the total qualifications of every student and to modify requirements in unusual circumstances.

The admission process to the graduate program in biomedical sciences is not related in any way to the admission process of any other program at Nova Southeastern University. Applications will be accepted starting January 1, and the deadline is April 1 of the year of matriculation.

View full list of Admission Requirements

The College of Medical Sciences is staffed with 32 faculty members, most of whom possess doctoral degrees in their fields. Because of the small size of the program, there is an opportunity for small group instruction and for a close working relationship with an adviser and other members of the science faculty.

View Faculty

Return to top of page